Schnauzer Page Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

At what age do you mate your bitches?

+5
ravenstot
Jo
Cornish Rex
Szende
snasapjasa
9 posters

Go down

At what age do you mate your bitches? Empty At what age do you mate your bitches?

Post  snasapjasa Thu Jan 22, 2009 2:53 am

How old are the bitches when you mate them in your contry? Is there a rule in your club?
In iceland you can mate them when they are 18 months old.
And you can have 2 litters in one year, and then you have to wait for one year after that to be able to mate them again.
snasapjasa
snasapjasa

Back to top Go down

At what age do you mate your bitches? Empty Re: At what age do you mate your bitches?

Post  Szende Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:55 am

Hy,
As a veterinary student I can suggest that one can mate his dog, after he is 2 years old, because the growing period should completely end by that time. After mating the dog it stops growing and it can affect his well-fare, specially speaking about bitches. Males usually can mate earlier, but only after reaching 75% of his mature body-weight. Mating a bitch 2 times a year is a little bit exhausting for her, it is better to mate every year once, more likely in springtime. This way she has enough time to regenerate his body reserves after nursing, her bones have time to go back to normal position and you will have smaller chance to face small litters, difficult births and maybe undersized puppies.
Even when feeding high quality dog food, you can not keep her in maximum condition to give birth for 5-6 puppies 2 times a year.
Szende
Szende

Back to top Go down

At what age do you mate your bitches? Empty Re: At what age do you mate your bitches?

Post  Cornish Rex Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:13 pm

If the rules are sett it should be followed. But if vetenary thinks the best age is 2 years for bitches it has to be based on genology.

To mate before 18 months are for puppymills and commercial breeding.